The History of Jubilee Masters Lodge No 2712
The origins of Jubilee Masters Lodge are to be found at the Especial Communication of Grand Lodge held at the Royal Albert Hall on 14th June 1897, presided over by the Prince of Wales in his capacity as Grand Master to mark the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria. A committee had been formed to arrange a dinner on 22nd June 1897 which only the Masters of London Lodges were eligible to attend, the notice of the dinner specifies that if the recipient anticipated vacating the Chair of his Lodge before 14th June he was to pass the notice to his successor. The dinner was to be held at the auditorium of the Empress Theatre, Victorian Era Exhibition, Earls Court, and was to be presided over by R.W. Bro. The Earl of Euston, Master of Royal Alpha Lodge, No.16, Provincial Grand Master of Northamptonshire and Huntingdonshire. The organisers noted that as there were over 450 Lodges in London “…a large and unique gathering is expected…”. One wonders what they would have made of the number of London Lodges today.
Some of the Brethren present at the dinner decided that they wished to form a new lodge to commemorate the occasion. This idea was taken up with enthusiasm and seventy-five eligible Brethren signed the petition and became founders of our Lodge. Those Brethren who were named in the Warrant comprised Alderman Walter Vaughan Morgan, Grand Treasurer, W.M., John Robert Cleave, SW., William Singleton Hooper, JW, Frederick Lawrence, PAGDC, Edmund R. Bartley Dennis, PProvGW (Middlesex), Charles Oliver Burgess, PProvGD (Surrey), Henry Neville, Imre Kiralfy, Frederick Van Duzer and Robert D. Cummings. This was the beginning of the history of the Jubilee Masters Lodge.
The full history of the Lodge, written by W. Bro. Bryan F. Page PJGD and published in the Lodge’s Centenary year is available from our secretary. Please contact him via email.